VW 7's Final Saturday September 16th & Photographs

Volkswagen Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland Football Sevens 

Derry's Eoghan Rua are first time Volkswagen Sevens Champs

Eoghan Rua, Coleraine 4-9 Kilmacud Crokes 2-10

Words By Cóilín Duffy, Cóilín Duffy Media.

Photographs below from Steven Dagg, Frances Mullin and Cóilín Duffy

Eoghan Rua, Coleraine were crowned VolksWagen Ireland All-Ireland Kilmacud Senior Football Sevens Champions for the first time, with a 4-9 to 2-10 win over Kilmacud Crokes GAA Club in tonight's final in Glenalbyn.

Crokes led by 1-7 to 1-6 at half-time, thanks to a Craig Dias goal late in the half, with Colm McGoldrick scoring the Eoghan Rua goal.

Eoghan Rua stormed back with Player of the Tournament Sean Leo McGoldrick in stunning form to take a five-point win.

SL McGoldrick scored 1-1 in the third quarter, with goals also from Colm McGoldrick and Ciaran Lagan late on.

Scorers for Eoghan Rua: Colm McGoldrick (1f) 2-1; SL McGoldrick 1-3; C Lagan 1-0; G McWilliams 0-2; N Holly, R Mooney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes: D O'Brien 0-5; A Mulvey (1 45, 1f) 0-3;C Dias 1-0; S Horan, C Kelly 0-1 each.

EOGHAN RUA (Derry): Niall Holly, Liam McGoldrick, Seanleo Mcgoldrick, Colm McGoldrick, Ciaran McGoldrick, Barry McGoldrick, Ciaran Lagan, Ruairi Mooney, Gavin Mc Williams, Ciaran Lenehan.

KILMACUD CROKES (Dublin): Alex Mulvey, Dan O'Brien, Cillian O'Shea, Shane Horan, Ben Shovlin, Craig Dias, Conor Kelly, Cian O'Connor, Callum Pearson, Karl Dias.

REFEREE: Brian Crowe (Cavan)