Corn Ceitinn Victory

Within ten minutes Crokes were 1-4 to no score clear.  A quick goal and point brought the visitors back into it and it was nip and tuck until the interval which saw the home team’s 1-6 matched by the visitors’ 2-3.  Three early second half Kevin Dalton points (two from frees) looked to put daylight between the sides before Counsel sent a free over in the fortieth minute.  After that the Drimnagh men were only able to add two more overs as Crokes hit a purple patch, scoring 1-7 in the final seventeen minutes and running out deserving winners.  Scorer in chief was Kevin Dalton with 1-6.  His goal alone was worth the admission price.  Ronan Walsh kept a sound goal.  Eamonn Sheehy, Shea Gillen and Aidan McCarthy were the most dominant of the backs.  At centrefield Michael Dalton was very effective and scored two good points while Traolach O’Sullivan and Peter Clinton, after his move upfield, were industrious attackers in the second half.


Ronan Walsh, Aidan McCarthy, Fergus Monnelly, Peter Clinton, Barrai Brennan, Eamonn Sheehy, Shea Gillen, Michael Dalton (0-2), Damien McSweeney, Traolach O’Sulllivan (0-2), Eoin Fingleton, Brian Sheehan (1-1), Brendan Hoyne (0-4), Darrragh Burke, Kevin Dalton (1-6, f -4, 65 -1).  Subs; Joe O’Reilly for D Burke (25 mins), Michael Garvey for B Sheehan (35 mins), Richie Power for D McSweeney (35 mins), Brian Mahon (0-1) for J O’Reilly (52mins), D MCSweeney for M Dalton (57 mins) (inj)