Crokes win U21c Championship!

Date 21 Dec 2012
Home Team       Away Team O'Tooles 1-15 1-18 Kilmacud Crokes
Venue Blunden Drive

Crokes are 2012 U21 Champions! (Read updated report)

KIlmacud Crokes, U21c Champions!

In the last competitive hurling action before Christmas Crokes finally overcame O'Tooles in extra time to become U21C Champions.

Crokes opened up strongly & roared into the lead with Sean McGrath opening his account with a point from a converted free and a goal from Jude Sweeney after 4 minutes. O'Tooles then came into the game and the rest of the half was a tight affair with both sides sharing 5 points a piece  At half time, Crokes led 1-6 to 5 points.

O'Tooles were the better team in the second half and out scored Crokes 9 points to 5 points. After 20 minutes in the half, O'Tooles went into the lead for the first time, but Crokes quickly drew level, but O'Tooles then went into a two point lead, Crokes dug deep and got the final two scores of the half to draw level.  When the whistle sounded, the score was Crokes 1-11 to O'Toole's 14 points.

As the rain came in, extra time started and Crokes started as they finished the second half and open up a 2 point lead but O'Tooles pulled one back leaving one point in it at the break.  Crokes extended their lead straight from the throw in.  Then O'Tooles goaled to go into the lead, but this was their last score of he game and Crokes struck four unanswered points to win by three points.  At the final whistle, Crokes led 1-18 to 1-15.

A fine sporting game, with high quality hurling from both sides.

Scorers:- Sean McGrath (0-9 -  3 frees), Jude Sweeney ( 1-1), Dillon Mullligan (0-3), Naomhan O'Riordan (0-2), Andy Cullinane, Mat Geraghty & Fionan Motherway all 1 point

Team: Eoin Dalton, James Butler, James O'Keeffe, Cian O'Brien, Emmet Doherty, Bill O'Carroll, Jamie Clinton, Naomhan O'Riordan, Matthew Geraghty, Mark Lynsky (Capt), Sean McGrath, Fionan Motherway, Andy Cullinane, Jude Sweeney, Conor O'Dwyer

Subs: - Jack Doughan for Conor O'Dwyer, Barry Horan for Fionan Motherway, Hugh Byrne for Matthew Geraghty, Dillon Mullligan for Mark Lynsky, Oisin O'Carroll for James Butler
Unused Subs:  John Huban, Paddy Tighe, Brendan Halpin.

Comhghairdeachas do na lads ar fad!