Great Golf For Kilmacud Crokes Hurling


After the downpours of the past few weeks the gods smiled with a benign day for the annual Kilmacud Crokes Hurling Golf Classic on Friday 30th June 2007 at South County Golf Club, just outside Brittas, Co. Dublin.  With the course was in great condition excellent prizes and spectacular views added to the occasion for the 22 teams that entered.

This was the Hurling Section’s second major corporate event of the year and, as with the Punchestown Race Day, our friends in the commercial sector were most generous in their response.

Post golf the participants were treated to excellent fare by the very attentive catering staff before prize giving at 9.30 pm

Out at noon, last year’s winners, the Crossan Homes team Peter Crossan (24), Martin Donohue (16), Liam Dunne (15) and Murt Davis (10), set a target of 90 points which was only bettered by the 2.40 pm starters, Whirlpool with 93 points.  The Whirlpool team included Paddy McCormack (18), Cyril Byrne (18), Damien Byrne (18) and Fergal Armstrong (14). 

The winners collected a Calloway 460 driver each for their day’s work.  The other prize winners were:

3rd        Enable Solution (K Coakley, M Crowe, J Ryan & M Keane) 87 points

4th:       Anglo Irish Bank (J Kane, G MacGabhann, C Long & J Cunningham) 86 points         

5th:       Muldowney Properties (D Hayes, D Lyndon, P Dignam & R Dignam) 85 points

6th:       Playprint (M McCrossan, P Lafferty, S McCrossan & J Lynch) 85 points

7th:       IFG (F O’Sullivan, C Fitzpatrick, A McGennis & T Montgomery) 85 points

8th:       Fagan & Associates (J Fagan, A McMahon, B Rafferty & M Cantwell) 84 points

9th        ESB International (P Fenlon, M Leahy, A Hutchinson & B Coughlan) 82 points

10th:    Irish Life (B Murphy, J O’Connor, W O’Rourke & R Leonard) 79 points


Nearest the pin (on the third hole – 3 feet, 6 inches) was Junior B Hurling star, Dara Lyndon, while the longest drive was won by Peter Dignam on the fifteenth.


Kilmacud Crokes Hurling is indebted to the organising work group of Padraig O’Sullivan, Colm Maher, Gearoid MacGabhann, Jim Kane and Sean Allen for their efforts in making the event such a success.  Thanks also to Michael Hynes and the underage players, Ken Noctor, David Noctor and Niall Butler, who helped out on the day


For photos of the day click HERE