Minor A's beat Castleknock to reach Final

The minor A hurlers played their championship semi final on Sunday against Castleknock. The match was played in O'Toole Park in Crumlin on a fine breezy morning.

This was a very hard physical match from the off with both teams extremely committed in the tackle. Crokes fell behind to a pointed free after five minutes and it took us until the eight minute to register our first score from a free from Ken Kelly. With both teams hooking and blocking superbly it was only after 20 minutes that we crept in front with a point from Conal O'Neill after Caolan Conway had earlier equalised for us. After this our backs started dominating and driving at the opposition with John Huban and Robert Muphy to the fore. Conor Devins and Matthew Geraghty did a superb job of harrying the Castleknock forwards and created opportunites for Alex Pilington to get in for a goal after 25 minutes. He then followed up with a second two minutes later following good work by Barry Horan and with Ken continuing to tap over the frees at half time it was 2 6 to 0 2 for Crokes.

Crokes went straight on the attack from the off in the second half and after a foul on Ross McGowan, Ken Kelly scored another free. Castleknock came at us in waves but our half back line of Jamie, Emmet and James were equal to everything thrown at them and we only conceded two points in the second half.  Scores were hard to come by but Conal O'Neill and Oisin O'Rourke scored long range points to extend our lead. Alex socrred a fine point after a long delivery fom Paddy Tighe. Our final score was a point from Cian MacGabhann who was nicely setup by Fionnan Motheway

The final score was Crokes 2 13 Castleknock 0 4. We have now qualified for the final in two weeks time against our old friends Ballyboden St Endas.


Team: Paddy Tighe, John Huban, Rob Murphy, Conor Devins, Jamie Clinton, Emmet Doherty, James Murphy, Conal O'Neill, Matthew Geraghty, Barry Horan, Caolan Conway, Ross McGowan, Oisin O'Rourke, Alex Pilkington, Ken Kelly. Substitutes: Fionnan Motherway for Ken Kelly, Cian MacGabhann for Oisin O'Rouke, Justin Cassidy for Caolan Conway, Conor O'Dwyer, Neil Gorey, Sean Boyd for Alex Pilkington and Cian Gormley for Ross McGowan.

Scorers: Alex Pilkington 2 2, Ken Kelly 0 6 (5 free, 1 65), Conal O'Neill 0 2, Caolan Conway, Oisin O'Rouke and Cian MacGabhann 1 point each