Minor B's outclass Erin's Isle

Date 20 Oct 2012
Home Team       Away Team Erin's Isle 0-07 3-16 Kilmacud Crokes
Venue Erins' Isle

Crokes had an excellent win against Erin's Isle in the Championship on a crisp Sunday morning in Finglas.

This was a tough physical match with a good few heavy hits but the Crokes lads stood their ground and showed their true grit. First half scores came mainly from frees (7) as the Crokes forwards were continuously fouled on the ball .  Seán Keating made no mistakes by clinically slotting them over the bar In the early moments of the match Graham was unlucky not to put the sliotar in the back of the net as the home keeper cleared his line. One score came from play from Dara Ó Gallchobhair. Erins Isle were held to just three points as the backs held them at bay . Kevin Ó Flannagáin was busy clearing ball after ball and driving them on into the forwards. Edward , Cathal and Mikey battled hard around mid field, frustrating the opposition. Goalkeeper, Sweeney, made a crucial save to keep the home team from inching their way back. The first half ended 0-08 to 0-03 points in favour of Crokes.

Second half saw Erins Isle pushing forward hoping to come back into the match. They were first to score , pointing three frees, while Crokes just pointed one.This left the score nine points to six. Crokes then moved into gear with half backs Ronan and Seanie setting up the forwards with some lovely passes for Sean and Dara to mark up a point each. Then came the crucial goal by Sean which put the visitors in the driving seat. Crokes began to score with great ease with two more great goals from Seán , three points from Dara and a nicely taken point from Ciaran Mc. The home team managed to slot over one free during this period, during which one of their players was sent off .The match ended with a final score of 3-16 to 0-07 in favour of Crokes.      A brilliant team effort.

Squad: C. Sweeney,M. Collins, K.Doyle, G Buckley,S Bedford, R.Horgan, K O Flanagáin, C Keane-Breslin, E  Campion, M O'Dwyer, C Mc Intyre(0-01), D Ó Gallchobhair(0-05), G Healy-Hayes ,É Allen, S Keating (3-10, 08frees),P Comerford, A Ahern, B O Sullivan, A Spollen, C O' Shea