U21 Hurlers lose out to Na Fianna in Final

Date 11 Dec 2016
Home Team       Away Team Na Fianna 0-18 0-15 Kilmacud Crokes
Venue Parnell Park

Na Fianna take U21 crown by 3 points


Although Na Fianna went into this final slight favourites, Crokes certainly put up a strong display before ultimately relinquishing their U21 crown.

Na Fianna were first to raise the white flag and followed up with a converted 65, although the awarding of the 65 looked questionable, at least to the Crokes players and fans! Fergal Whitely got Crokes first score, quickly added to by Ciaran McIntyre. From then until half time the match ebbed and flowed, as did the lead, with the teams drawing level seven times before a pointed free from Michael Roche (his third of the half) gave Crokes the narrowest of leads going in at the break.

Another pointed free by Roche early in the second half gave Crokes a two point lead. However, Na Fianna began to dominate and, despite drawing level a further 5 times during the half - the last time with less than 3 minutes on the clock - it was Na Fianna who finished the stronger, with three unanswered points earning them the 2016 U21 Championship.    

Klmacud Crokes Squad:

T Murphy, E Sheehy, D Ó Murchú, J Gibbons, S McEntee, C MacGabhann, E Allen, F Whitely, M McCallion, S Veale, R Hayes, C McIntyre, S O Dwyer, A Considine,  M Roche

Subs D Butler, O O Siochrú, D Ó Gallchobhair (for A Consideine, 40m), M Connor, C Ryan (for S McEntee, 40m), J Maher, M O Loughlin, S Keating, C O Sé, R Geraghty, D Dagg.

To read the the Dundrum Gazette Match report click HERE or for a pdf version click  2016u21finalgazette_dundrum.pdf 

To read the Gazette City edition match report click 2016u21finalgazette_city.pdf 


Photos by Diarmuid Ó Gallchobhair