Unders 16 Reach Na Piarsaigh Tournament Final

Click here to see images of the Na Piarsaigh tournament, courtesy of Darragh McGowan  On Saturday, 24th July 2010, the under 16’s went to Cork to take part in the Na Piarsaigh tournament.  Springing quickly out of traps, the Crokes boys led by twelve points at half time against Durlas Og in the semi final.  The premier lads had it back to five with two quick goals and a point eight minutes into the second half.  Crokes steadied, tacked on a few points and then pulled away to win 5-16 to 2-9.



C Conway (0-8, f-3, 65-1), N Gorey (0-3), R Mc Gowan (2-2, f-1), B Horan(2-1), C Gormley (1-0), C Devins (0-1), J Murphy (0-1)


In the other semi Na Piarsaigh overcame the Kerry North development squad.  The afternoon final was a very toughly contested game.  At first it looked as if Na Piarsaigh would sweep Crokes off their feet as the Dublin lads struggled to adapt to the pace and intensity.  At this level you have to take everything that is going and a few missed chances and half chances did not help the Kilmacud cause.  At one point the gap was eight points.  A Crokes goal before half time left it 1-10 to 1-5 to the Cork northsiders. 

Na Piarsaigh got the first score of the second half.  Then Crokes upped their game very considerably.  Scores were hard to come by.  Approaching the midway point of the half Crokes had it down to four and were pressing hard.  A goal against the run of play opened up a seven point gap again.  The Crokes lads did not lie down as the game went from end to end with every ball fiercely contested.  However it was not enough and Na Piarsaigh emerged victorious, 2-15 to 2-8.  Nevertheless the Crokes squad can be very proud of their efforts and application.  Taking a prestigious Tipperary scalp in fine style is no mean achievement and going toe to toe with a top Cork team in their own backyard is not a bad day’s work.  Once again many thanks to Na Piarsaigh for their generous hospitality and welcome.




C Sweeny, M Collins, D Corish, A Colclough, C O’Dwyer, C Devins, J Murphy, C Conway, R Murphy, O O'Siochru, C Gormley, D Keane, R McGowan, B Horan, N Gorey, L O’Sullivan, M O’Dwyer, C McIntyre, E Campion and E Allen