Victory for Junior D's against Realt Dearg

Date 8 Jul 2012
Home Team       Away Team Realt Dearg 4-12 4-18 Kilmacud Crokes
Venue Kiltipper

The Junior D’s claimed a superb victory against a very strong Realt Dearg team in a rearranged fixture yesterday evening (Monday 9 July 2012) out in Kiltipper. Having gone a few points down early on, Crokes fought back strongly, through a fortuitous goal from corner forward Andy. Another was quickly added by Connor and Crokes got into their stride and began taking their scores very well from play. The referee's whistle ensured there was a lot of free taking opportunities for both sides and the free takers played an important part for both sides, with Shane doing his part excellently, scoring from nearly all opportunities. At half time we went in two points up at 2-09 to 2-07.

Dearg started the second half quickly, with a goal and a pointed free to put them back in the game. However, we responded well, with a well taken goal from distance from Daragh Brennan, who was starting to exert control at centre half forward, followed quickly by a lucky goal from a long range free from Shane, that was dropped into the net by the home team keeper. Simon and Niall in the middle stepped up their performance in the second half and totally took control of the middle of the field, both putting over excellent points from play.

The introduction of a few substitutions midway through the half kept our dominance intact and we kept tapping the points over, whilst the home team chased goals from a little too early on. Two lovely taken points towards the end, one from a great solo effort from Daragh and a nice pull in the air from Neale from an indirect free, ensured we finished comfortably, with a six point winning margin at 4-18 to 4-12.


The team on the night was:

  1. Peter O’Donoghue
  2. Donal Munnelly (sub. Paul Ryan)
  3. Damien McAulifffe
  4. Ciaran McIntyre
  5. Odhran O’Suchru
  6. Adrian Creen
  7. James Butler
  8. Niall Hanley (sub. Ciaran O’Callaghan)
  9. Simon Rouse
  10. Shane O’Keeffe
  11. Daragh Brennan
  12. Connor O’Dwyer (sub. Mikey O’Dwyer)
  13. Andy Cullinane
  14. Neale Martin
  15. Ian O’Keeffe (sub. Ronan Walshe)


Scores came from Shane O’Keeffe (1g, 10p (8 frees)), Daragh Brennan (1g, 2p), Andy Cullinane (1g, 1p), Connor O’Dwyer (1g, 1p), Simon Rouse, Niall Hanley, Neale Martin and Ian O’Keeffe (1p each)


Report by Ian O'Keeffe