Week Ending 11th November 2007

Senior Play Off

In O’Toole Park on Sunday 11th November 2007 the seniors had a facile 8-19 to 1-6 win over St Marks to ensure senior “A” status for 2008.  Short five of the team that ran eventual champions Ballyboden to four points, Crokes took control of the game from the start.  Within three minutes they were 1-3 to no score clear.  The concession of a fifth minute goal might have given momentary cause for thought but not for long as the Kilmacud team powered on to lead 5-11 to 1-4 at the interval.  Despite conceding a point within thirty seconds of the restart the second half was a replica of the first and the issue was never in doubt.  One blip on an otherwise satisfactory performance was the twenty wides notched up.

Team: MacDara O’hOgain, Niall Lillis, Dave Mahoney, Kieran Murphy, Damien Byrne (0-1), Declan Browne, Daithi de Paor, Aodhan de Paor (0-5), Ross O’Carroll (0-1), Neil Casey (0-2), James Burke (1-0), Brian Motherway (1-4), Fergus Garvey (1-2), Paul Graham (2-3, f-3), Alan Tiernan (3-1).  Subs: Ray Mangan for O’Carroll (36 mins), Willie Ryan for Browne (42 mins), Michael Dalton (for Garvey 46 mins), Shea Gillen (for Graham 46 mins), Tomas Donohue for Casey (49 mins), Fergus Monnelly

Under 13

Earlier in the day the under 13’s entertained Wexford’s Oulart-the-Ballagh and ran out convincing winners.  Once Crokes took a grip of the match after ten minutes only one outcome was likely in spite of the best efforts of the game visitors.  On a day when Crokes had many stars particularly prominent were Mark Collins, James Murphy, Robert Murphy, Cian Gormley, Matthew McNicholas and Barry Horan.

Squad: E Allen, A Colclough, C Sweeny, M Collins, J Murphy, P O’Shea, C O’Dwyer, C Conway, R Murphy, T Barry, C Gormley, M McNicholas, N Gorey, D Corish, C Devins, B Horan, R Geraghty and C Gowing.

Under 12

Early Sunday morning the under 12’s set off to South Kilkenny for two games in the ten-a-side Carrigeen all-weather tournament against the Laois Development Squad and Durlas Og.  While the Crokes boys had to give way in both games it was a very satisfactory outing with Michael Mitchell, Michael O’Dwyer, Gregory Buckley and Karl Doyle most prominent.

Squad: Dara O’Gallchobhair, Michael O’Dwyer, Gregory Buckley, Odhran O’Siochru, Ronan Horgan, Davy Kane, Ciaran McIntyre, Dylan Paisley, Karl Doyle, Mark O’Loughlin, Michael Mitchell, Ferdia Rogers and Stephen Faughey.

Triumph for St Benildus

Friday 9th November 2007 brought a happy conclusion to a busy week for St Benildus Junior hurlers when they annexed the Dublin “B” Hurling title at O’Toole Park with a 3-11 to 2-10 extra time victory over Scoil Aodhain.  This was a humdinger of a game with the Crokes backboned St. Benildus three points in arrears at half time, 0-3 to 0-6.  The regulation sixty minutes failed to separate the teams and it took a keenly contested extra time for the Upper Kilmacud Road side to garner the laurels.  On Tuesday Benildus overwhelmed Castleknock Community College in the semi final 6-19 to 0-3 at Pairc Bharrog.  Congratulations to all involved and in particular to the Kilkenny originated management team of Brendan Hoyne, Brendan Cahill and Claire Delaney.  Make sure to check the website for pending report!!

Final Team: Paddy Tighe, Conor G Murphy, Karl Russell, Sean Sullivan, Robert Doyle, Fiachra Lynn, Niall Carr, Nikko Salvino, Colm Kyne Delaney, Fearghal Duffy, Matthew Kinsella, Donal Butler, Michael O’Connor, Glen Whelan, Conor Butler.  Subs: Conor Devins for M O’Connor, Niall Hanley for C G Murphy, Darragh Byrne for C Butler, Mark Lynskey, Thomas Riley, Conor K Murphy, Gary Brogan, Sean Donnellan, Glen O’Brien and Stuart Kyne Delaney.

Minor “A” County Final Replay

The eagerly awaited replay of the Dublin Minor “A” Hurling final between Crokes and Na Fianna has been fixed for Sunday 18th November in Parnell Park at 12.30.  Crokes will be hoping to add to previous victories in 1929-1935 (Crokes), 1960 (Dalcassians), 1985 (Kilmacud Crokes) and 1998 (Kilmacud Crokes).  Please make every effort to support the Crokes lads.

Upcoming Action

Also coming up in the next few weeks are the under 21 championship game against Craobh Chiaran and a vital senior league game with O’Tooles which will have a major say on who proceeds to the semi final.

As usual the advice is to keep an eye on www.kilmacudcrokes.com/hurling or www.hill16.ie for fixture details and always remember to confirm final arrangements with relevant mentors


The A.G.M. of the Hurling Section will take place in Glenalbyn on Thursday 22nd November 2007 at 8pm. Resolutions and nominations are to be forwarded to Tom Rock in writing at the club or by email to marytrock@eircom.net. The closing date for receipt of resolutions is Thursday 15th November.  Closing date for nominations for positions on the committee is also 15th November. Nominees must be paid-up members of the Club and must be proposed and seconded by two paid-up members.

Hurling Arena

The new Hurling Arena in Glenalbyn is now in full swing and proving a major hit.  This €500,000 project will be a huge addition to hurling in the club and is entirely funded by the Hurling Section.  For more see HERE

Our fifth annual Kilmacud Crokes Hurling Corporate Race Day takes place in Punchestown on Tuesday 22nd April 2008.  The event has gone from success to success and bookings are now being taken.    Donations or spot prizes remain very welcome.  Please contact Brian Geraghty, Hurling Section, Commercial Officer, 087-2312378 and brianpgeraghty@eircom.net.

Dublin Minor Hurling Presentation Night

More celebrations are in the pipeline for 1st December when the Dublin 2007 Leinster Minor Hurling Champions will be feted at Glenalbyn.  The Crokes players to be honoured are Barry O’Rorke (captain), Rory O’Carroll, Rob O’Loughlin and Kevin O’Loughlin.

Nursery Hurling

Nursery hurling activity has now moved indoors at Oatlands College Sports Hall every Sunday to February 2008:

Boys born in 2002                    9am to 10 am (including beginners)

Boys born in 2001                    10am to 11 am

Boys born in 2000                    11am to 12 noon

Older ages are catered for in the Paddock, also on Sunday mornings:

Boys born in 1999                    10am to 11am

Boys born in 1998                    9am to 10am

Boys born in 1997                    11am to 12 noon

Boys born in 1995                    12 noon to 1pm

For further details of the above or on other ages contact Liam Coughlan 086-6063232 and lccoughlan@eircom.net.  Active parental input is essential for the success of the nursery.  No hurling experience necessary