Week Ending 4 Nov 2007

Minor A County Final v Na Fianna

One of Dublin hurling’s blue ribbon trophies produced a fitting contest in Parnell Park on Sunday 4th November 2007 when a late Rob O’Loughlin point gave Crokes a second bite of the cherry on a 2-8 to 1-11 scoreline.

With a good seventh minute goal from Sean McGrath, Crokes were four points ahead after fifteen minutes, 1-3 to 0-2, and looked to be gaining the upper hand.  However, Na Fianna with a point and a goal wrapped around a Crokes twenty first minute point, brought themselves back into the game.  At half time there was only the minimum in it, with Crokes 1-5 to 1-4 ahead.

An exciting first half was followed by a thrilling second, in very good conditions for the time of year.  Na Fianna scored the opening two points.  Conor Clinton’s leveled in the thirty sixth minute.  Crokes went ahead by one.  Na Fianna hauled them back.  In the forty fifth minute, Na Fianna hit the first of three points on the trot.  It took a fifty first minute Brian Hanamy goal to restore parity, 2-7 to 1-10.  Eight scoreless, but exciting, minutes followed.  With little over sixty seconds of normal time remaining, Na Fianna went ahead by one.  Crokes pushed for the equalizer.  A Na Fianna clearance was grabbed by Rob O’Loughlin who equalised from 45 metres.  That would have been enough for most but the referee played on.  Crokes attacked again.  Conor Clinton drove down the right wing and his off load looked to set Crokes up for a chance of the winner.  As breaths were inhaled, for reasons best known to him, the referee signaled a free out.  Apprehension swung the Kilmacud way.  Thankfully from the Crokes point of view the Na Fianna effort, from 100 metres, went wide but not before emotions had well and truly extended the pendulum at both ends.  2-8 to 1-11 at the conclusion, the date for the second serving has yet to be fixed but few who attended the first installment will miss it.  Comhghairdeachas d’uilig.  For full report (and link to Hill 16 match report) click HERE  

As usual the advice is to keep an eye on www.kilmacudcrokes.com/hurling or www.hill16.ie for fixture details and always remember to confirm final arrangements with relevant mentors .

Under 12B’s Secure Runners Up Spot

Following the excitement of Parnell Park, Sunday afternoon had one of the under 12 teams playing Set anta, away.  The Kilmacud boys emerged victorious to claim runners up spot in the B league, on a 5-2 to 1-9 score.  From a brilliant game of hurling it was difficult to select stars but special mention must be made of Edward Campion, Gregory Buckley, corner forward, Michael Mitchell who scored two goals, Ferdia Rogers, goalkeeper, Eamonn Allen and Sean Bedford.

Squad: E Allen, G Buckley, E Campion, S Bedford, A Price, F Rogers, A Brennan, C Keane-Breslin, M Mitchell, S Faughey, D Paisley, A Spollen, C Egan and M Kane.

Hurling Arena

The new Hurling Arena in Glenalbyn is now in full swing and proving a major hit.  This €500,000 project will be a huge addition to hurling in the club and is entirely funded by the Hurling Section.  For more click HERE


Our fifth annual Kilmacud Crokes Hurling Corporate Race Day takes place in Punchestown on Tuesday 22nd April 2008.  The event has gone from success to success and bookings are now being taken.    Donations or spot prizes remain very welcome.  Please contact Brian Geraghty, Hurling Section, Commercial Officer, 087-2312378 and brianpgeraghty@eircom.net.

Friends of Dublin Hurling: Awards night

‘Friends of Dublin Hurling’ hosted a ‘Celebrate Dublin Hurling’ night in the Red Cow Hotel on the night of November 2 (7.0).

The evening featured the presentation of medals for the Dublin’s U21 Leinster winning side of 2007, the 2006 National League Division 2 winners and the victorious Walsh Cup team of 2003.  Crokes Ross O’Carroll and Shane O’Rorke were members of the under 21 side while Aodhan de Paor was on the 2006 panel.

The event was compeered by Paul Collins and Wexford’s All-Ireland winning manager of 1996, Liam Griffin, was the guest speaker.

Dublin hurling’s Player of the Year award went to Ronan Fallon of St Vincents while Craobh Chiaran’s Alan McCrabbe won the Young Player of the Year award.  Crumlin’s Jimmy Boggan was inducted to the Friends of Dublin Hurling Hall of Fame.

More celebrations are in the pipeline for 1st December when the Dublin 2007 Leinster Minor Hurling Champions will be honoured at Glenalbyn.

Nursery Hurling

Nursery hurling activity has now moved indoors at Oatlands College Sports Hall every Sunday to February 2008:

Boys born in 2002                    9am to 10 am (including beginners)

Boys born in 2001                    10am to 11 am

Boys born in 2000                    11am to 12 noon

Older ages are catered for in the Paddock, also on Sunday mornings:

Boys born in 1999                    10am to 11am

Boys born in 1998                    9am to 10am

Boys born in 1997                    11am to 12 noon

Boys born in 1995                    12 noon to 1pm

For further details of the above or on other ages contact Liam Coughlan 086-6063232 and lccoughlan@eircom.net.  Active parental input is essential for the success of the nursery.  No hurling experience necessary