Joy Unconfined

One of the great Kilmacud Crokes hurling evenings was witnessed in Wexford Park on Wednesday 13th July 2011 when Dublin lifted the Leinster Under 21 trophy following a 1-18 to 0-11 win over the Slaneysiders.


Click here for images of the Crokes contingent at the U21 Final!Four Crokes men, Bill O’Carroll, Jack Doughan, Kevin O’Loughlin and Sean McGrath were on the field at the finish.  A fifth, Barry Mulligan, also played an important part in the 2011 campaign.  The opening half was evenly contested with the Dubs going in 0-9 to 0-8 ahead.  During this time corner backs O’Carroll and Doughan got to grips with their direct opponents and lay the basis for a telling superiority in the second half.  At the same time Kevin O’Loughlin was proving his accuracy that would bring him a total of eight points, two from play, during the game.  Sean McGrath’s half time introduction firstly at centre forward, coincided with Dublin streaking clear and he capped his contribution with two fine points.


Congratulations to the lads in question and to team doctor Chris Thompson on their achievements and the best of luck in the All-Ireland campaign which commences with a semi final against the Ulster champions on 20th August 2011.  Well done also to the unsung heroes the parents and families as well as to all the mentors who played their parts in the development of these young hurlers


These five medals bring the club’s haul of Leinster under 21 medals to 12 in five years.  Previous winners were:


2010  Ronan Walsh, Robert O’Loughlin, Conor Clinton, Barry O’Rorke, Rory O’Carroll

2007  Ross O’Carroll, Shane O’Rorke


We reproduce the match report below.Anyone with photographs of the occasion is invited to send them to for publication on this website. Click on the flashing camera above to see images courtesy of Sean Allen and Tom McIntyrre!



Dublin’s under-21 hurlers wrote themselves into the annals of Dublin GAA when they put back-to-back provincial titles together when they defended their Bord Gais Energy Leinster U21HC title in impressive fashion at Wexford Park on Wednesday evening.

The Dubs led 0-9 to 0-8 after an evenly balanced opening 30 minutes before Eamon Dillon’s goal eight minutes into the second half was the spark that drove John McEvoy’s men onto provincial glory.

The Nh Fionnbarra lad was the supersub with his tally of 1-2 as well as his overall display a major contribution to the Dublin victory. His goal made it 1-11 to 0-11 and the Slaneysiders failed to score again the Dublin rearguard raised their game to render the Wexford forward line as good as powerless for the concluding 20 minutes.

Dublin’s defence where Dean Curran, Liam Rushe and Darren Kelly stood their hussled and harried the Wexford attack any time in possession while up front the blues’ forward line found their scoring touch with Dillion, Kevin O’Loughlin, Niall McMorrow and sub Sean McGrath were clinical.

Wexford had a goal chance in the 40th minute but Kelly put his body in the way to deny James Breen from point blank range. His ‘thou shalt not pass’ attitude exemplified that of his defence as they repelled the best Wexford could throw at them and as the game reached its conclusion Dublin’s task was made easier by the quest for goals by the home side.

The opening half was a different affair with neither side getting on top for any sustained period of time. Wexford led 0-5 to 0-2 inside ten minutes with the accuracy of Emmet Kent to the fore. Kent had to be subbed through injury later in the half which deprived his side of one of their best performers.

Dublin rallied with points in the tenth, 12th and 14th minutes from O’Loughlin, the stylish McMorrow and a monster O’Loughlin free from 80 metres to draw level.

Coming into the closing minutes of the first half Wexford edged back in front with points from Liam Og McGovern and Paul Morris but crucially the Dubs found their stride before the break with excellent scores from Dean Curran, a 40-metre sideline, an inspirational Dillon point from the covered stand touchline on the run and 63-metre free from O’Loughlin to lead 0-9 to 0-8 at the break.

The Dubs face the Ulster champions in the All-Ireland semi-final. 

SCORERS - Dublin: K O’Loughlin 0-8 (0-6f), E Dillon 1-2, N McMorrow 0-3, S McGrath 0-2, C Gough, D Curran (0-1 sline), D Sutcliffe 0-1 each. Wexford: P Morris (0-2f), E Kent (0-2f, 0-1 ‘65’) 0-4 each, P Doran, L Og McGovern, H Kehoe 0-1 each.

DUBLIN -  G McManus; B O’Carroll, D Kelly, J Doughan; D Curran, L Rushe, M Quilty; C Gough, D Sutcliffe; D Plunkett, M Schutte, R Mahon; K O’Loughlin, T Connolly, N McMorrow. Subs: E Dillon for Quilty (28), S McGrath for Mahon (ht), C Brennan for Schutte (50), F Clabby for Connolly (60), O Ó Maoileidigh for O’Loughlin (60)

WEXFORD -  M Fanning; E Moore, P Donnelly, W Devereux; M O’Regan, M O’Hanlon, S Murphy; E Kent, H Kehoe; S Tomkins, J Leacy, L Óg McGovern; P Morris, J Breen, P Doran. Subs: D O’Keefe for Kent (22), J Gahan for Leacy (43), I Byrne for Tomkins (47), J Reck for O’Keefe (56)


REF – S Cleere (Kilkenny)