U12's beat Emeralds (Urlingford) 9 Apr 2006

On a blustery Sunday (9th April 2006) afternoon a tough encounter saw Crokes emerge victorious 1-7 to 0-2 against hosts Emeralds of Urlingford in a game that was very much tighter than the margin suggests.  Playing with a strong wind Crokes had the upper hand in the second half but a half time lead of 0-5 to 0-1 looking slender.


Goalkeeper Cian MacGabhann dealt capably with everything Emeralds threw at him especially in the second half.  Right corner back Mark Collins had one of his best games yet while Daibhid Corish was a rock at full back.  In the other corner Conal McCluskey kept his man under a tight rein.  Barry Horan, both as a back and forward was resolute and determined.  The half back line of Conor O’Dwyer, Matthew Geraghty and Conor O’Byrne cleared a lot of ball.  At centre field Conor Devins caught some great balls and put over a great point.  Alongside him Maitiu McNicholas played a captain’s part.  Right half forward Neil Gorey fought tenaciously and hit over two good frees.  Centre forward Cian Gormley kept his inside well supplied while left winger Caolan Conway hit two great points on the run.  Michael Herlihy emerged top scorer with 1-1.  Robert Murphy was a strong forward.  Eoin Ryall foraged well and caused his marker a lot of trouble while Tomas Barry was a handful for the Emeralds full back and was unlucky not to score with one great drive across the face of the goal.  In the first half Hugh Gowing raised the white flag with a point from an acute angle and also played superbly at corner back in the second half.



After the game the travelling party was treated to refreshments by our wonderful hosts, Emeralds, and many thanks to them for their generous hospitality.  Thanks also to Denis Gorey for organising the game.



Cian MacGabhann, Mark Collins, Daibhid Corish, Conal McCluskey, Barry Horan, Conor O’Dwyer, Matthew Geraghty, Conor O’Byrne, Conor Devins, Maitiu McNicholas (captain), Neil Gorey, Cian Gormley, Caolan Conway, Michael Herlihy, Robert Murphy, Eoin Ryall, Tomas Barry, Hugh Gowing.