AFL 9 v Columcilles


Our AFL9 team team had a comprehensive win over Columcilles on Sunday (29th) last in Siver Park. It was a glorious sunny day and a large attendance enjoyed an open free flowing game with not a Blanket defence in sight. Despite a lot of early possession , KC9s did not keep the scoreboard ticking over. This was mainly down to some of their  “Former Greats“ ( of which there are at least 7 on this team) not taking very easy chances and over –elaborating. It took Kevin O Cearbhail and Ken Garvey to steady the ship and pop over a few points to steady the nerves. Davey Kehoe (DKNY )in his new position as “Link- man” was very industrious and despite not scoring himself was self-less and did a lot of invisible work behind the scenes. A mazey run by Young Gun Lorcan McMullan which resulted in a gentle tap-in first goal for Rory Breslin set us on our way . KC9s retired for half –time refreshments in the shade 7 points to the good. The second half sprung into life with a blizzard of scores. Both Conor Burns ( Burns) and Fionan (Funky) turned back the clock 10 -15 years , by sprinting 80 metres to get on the end of a classic KC9 counter-attack move. This was a move that has never been tried in training as this team do not like to train. Human Wrecking ball Liam Higgins was doing a lot of damage mid-field and up-front Adrien Coyle was banging in the goals. Its estimated he got at least two but it was quite difficult to keep count. As the half progress, KC9 emptied their bench bringing on fresh 49 year old legs John O Loughlin who helped closed out the game with the final pass for KC9s fifth goal .....scored by Mark Grogan

The final whistle went and KC9s are back on the Winning Train.

Final score 5-13 to 2-6


Back row left to right
Eoin Clancy, Stephen McEntee, Conor Egan, Conor Burns, John O Loughlin, Gary Nolan, David Tunney, Collie Murphy, Mark Grogan, Fionan Kennedy, Liam Higgins, Garret McGrath, Ciaran Doyle,

Bottom row left to right
Adrian Coyler, Rory Breslin, Ken Garvey, Ciaran Mcgrath, Paul Griffin, Davey Keogh, Nicky McGrath, Lorcan McMullan